Faith in Every Footstep

So, my hubby is such an amazing man! I don’t know how he does it. He is a full time student, this past semester having taken 13 credits, and works 40-50+ hours. Thankfully, it is summer break for 7 weeks, but he still has to work in the meantime. We have been trying to figure out a way to get him in a different job so he wasn’t working so much, had time to study more for his classes, spend more time with our son and I, etc. But for him to find something that he doesn’t have to work at so much and make the kind of money that we need to pay our bills is basically non-existent.

We have looked into different kinds of SAHM jobs that I could do to help bring in some extra income, without having to send our baby to daycare or be babysat all day. I’ve looked into a ton of different MLM jobs that I could stay home with, some being very intriguing, and after praying and talking about it, do not feel right to start doing.  Its very hard and frustrating when you’re trying so hard to take the load of your husband so he isn’t working as hard and isn’t as stressed.

Several years ago, I went to cosmetology school and graduated with 2000 hours. I have an active cosmetologist/barbering license in Utah. I don’t currently practice it unless family or friends ask me to do their hair for them. Recently, my husband and bishop have been trying to convince me to start doing it again and get my license transferred to Idaho. I am currently working on figuring that part out, but its kind of a pain in the booty! I am hoping that I can get that transferred to Idaho here soon, but I recently heard that Idaho is not going to be taking Utah licenses soon, if its not already in place, because Utah has changed their hours. This means that my license will easily not qualify as a full 2000 hour license here soon. Here’s to hoping that I’m not too late!

Behind the scenes of all of this…. My husband is in school to become a PA. We are hoping that he will be completely done with school in 2018. During PA school, they highly encourage and ask the students to not work and to dedicate all extra time to studying and homework. We have been trying to decide what to do during that time for having an income. Do we take a loan out so we can live and survive? Do I put my child in daycare or have a nanny come babysit him every day while mommy is gone and works all day? What do we do?????

I will admit, I am not the best at saying my morning prayers or studying my scriptures every day…. But I really do try to stay close to my Heavenly Father and rely on Him. I know I need to do better at these things to help my faith increase even more so. I want my children to know that I love my Father in Heaven and Savior, Jesus Christ. I want them to see their mommy close to Them.

I’ve been trying really hard to have faith that everything will work out, no matter how hard and trying things get. That we will be able to have sufficient for our needs. That I will be led to the right SAHM job so I can be a full time mommy as well as bring in extra income. That the stress and weight will be lifted off of our shoulders. Honestly though, its been hard. I’ve been struggling to stay positive and have faith that we will be okay. That (I) will be okay, even when my spirit knows that it will all work out.

So, how do we practice strengthening our faith in God? Besides the primary answers to always pray and read your scriptures, that really are super important and necessary!

Neil A. Andersen said, “Challenges will come to you, but as you trust in God, they will strengthen your faith.”

L. Tom Perry said, “One of the greatest weaknesses in most of us is our lack of faith in ourselves.”

Deiter F. Uchtdorf said, “If you feel small and weak, please simply come unto Christ, who makes weak things strong.”

President Thomas S. Monson said, “The Lord is in the details of our life.”

And Bruce D. Porter said, “Don’t let your faith dim in the storm of life.”

There are a lot of answers that could answer this, but the one I am talking about would be exactly said in the quotes. We MUST come unto Christ. He is the only one who can lift our burdens and make us stronger. The more that we rely on Him, the more we will grow in testimony, faith, love, happiness, and trust. He will never leave us alone. He wants to see us happy and successful with our lives. What is important to us is important to Him, no matter how small or big it is that we want. (Of course it being good and righteous.)

Life comes with trials and struggles. We can’t go through life without them. But, we have access to the most powerful source to help us through those times. We can’t expect to do it on our own or only have Him help us where we want or when we want Him to.

As we all go through this journey in life, may we take it one day at a time and keep the Lord apart of it. Not just a little here and a little there, but constantly throughout every day. He wants to be apart of our life and know what is going on. I hope and pray that He will help strengthen and uplift me during my trials and hardships. I don’t expect Him to make it all better right then and there. I do know that He will help calm my burdened heart.

May our Father in Heaven and Savior, Jesus Christ, always be with you.

With Love, Jessica

Leave a Reply

