Church Callings

Good evening, everybody!!

So, just this past Sunday, Brenden was given the opportunity to have a new calling in our ward. Well, technically, our Bishop called us in to his office and extended the calling to him unorthodox. He is now the official, new, and greatest Executive Secretary to our bishop! Meaning… He is basically “married” to him because they communicate ALL THE TIME about meetings, checking up on people, organizing the bishops whole schedule when it comes to anything related to our ward and the people in it! I support him fully! šŸ˜€ I am excited to see what this calling has in store for both him and I and our family.

When our bishop was called to be our new bishop a couple months ago, Brenden found out that he was in the medical field. He got super excited about that. He quickly found out that our bishop was also way into cars! So funny, because we are too! There were several other things that we found out about that we had in common, and felt that we would get along with him very well, very quickly.

I know that Brenden being in this calling is going to take him away from being at home a bit more so than he already is, but I also know that Heavenly Father will bless our family for him accepting this calling and fulfilling his duty. Brenden really is such an incredible and spiritual man. I am so blessed to have him as my husband. I learn so much from him every single day! If I make it to the Celestial Kingdom, it will be because I was hanging onto the tail of his shirt! Haha!

Church callings really are a blessing to us and our families. When we receive a calling to serve in the Church, it is something that Heavenly Father has asked us to do to help us grow as well as help serve others. There are a lot of people who are more than happy to get a calling in the Church, but once they get it, after doing what is supposed to be done for a few weeks, sadly they quit fulfilling their full responsibilities. I will admit, I am not the best at fulfilling my callings 100%. I need to do a lot better. But, I do try to do what I can when I am doing it.

Several years ago, I used to be a primary teacher to the Sunbeams and CTR 4 class. This class was combined because there was only like 2 Sunbeam children in the class. It was probably one of my most favorite callings I have ever had. I love teaching children and helping them understand the Gospel and come to know our Savior, Jesus Christ, in a way that their innocent minds can relate and understand to. They are so humbling and taught myself so much about my Savior and His love for little children. Someday, I hope to be able to serve the children in the Primary program again. It was such a wonderful experience!!

To those of you who have callings in your ward/church, serve it to the fullest with the love of God. You will be blessed beyond measure. Don’t expect to receive anything back, because when you do it to help others, you will receive a love and happiness that cannot come in another way. That is a blessing in itself. It will be worth the journey!

With love always,

Jessica

Leave a Reply

